What is TOEFL?

The Test of English as a Foreign Language or TOEFL is an English proficiency exam. TOEFL test is designed for non-native English speakers in order to evaluate their proficiency in the English language–it measures the individual’s ability to use and understand the language. The test focuses on the following areas: listening, reading, writing, and speaking. It is completely done over the internet. Hence, it’s also called TOEFL IBT (internet-based test). Unless TOEFL IBT wouldn’t be possible in some places, a pen and paper test is provided in designated areas.

TOEFL IBT test covers four sections and each with its allocated time:

Reading —60-100 minutes

3-5 passages (12-14 questions each)

Listening — 60-90 minutes

4-6 lectures and academic discussions (6 questions each)

2-3 conversations (5 questions each)

Speaking —20 minutes


6 tasks (2 independent, 4 integrated)

Writing –50 minutes

1 integrated task, 1 independent task

Why take TOEFL?

Many colleges and universities from English-speaking countries like US and Canada list TOEFL test as one of the requirements for a foreign student to be admitted in the college or university. Also, some institutions require a foreign individual to submit a TOEFL test result as a basis for evaluation in terms of determining the individual’s competencies in the English language.

Who takes TOEFL?

Individuals who take TOEFL test are those who are:

  •  Non-native English speakers
  • Planning to study abroad primarily in English-speaking countries
  •  In an exchange and scholarship programs
  • English learners who want to evaluate and compare their present and previous performances in the test result for certification or future employment in certain countries



What is TOEIC?

As the world becomes globally competitive, individuals must also be equipped with the needed skills in order to keep up with the changing times and one particular aspect is the ability to communicate using the English language.

TOEIC is an acronym for Test of English for International Communication. It is a standardized English language test given to non-native English speaking examinees or employees to test their competencies in a working environment and check their English language skills whether or not they can meet the demands of a globally competitive environment. TOEIC allows each individual to prove their worth in a business environment by being able to meet with the demands of an ever changing world.

The TOEIC test measures your ability to use English in daily working situations like telephone conversations, business meetings, customer relations, etc.

It’s a two-hour pencil and paper test divided into two sections:

Listening—has 100 questions based on the audio played during each segment. The allotted time is 45 minutes

Reading—has 100 questions multiple-choice test items divided into three segments: incomplete sentences, error recognition, and reading comprehension. The allotted time is 75 minutes.

Aside from the traditional 2-hour paper and pencil test to examine the applicant’s listening and reading skills, speaking (20 minutes) and writing (60 minutes) tests have also been included which is taken via the internet to make the exam more reliable as it covers all four aspects of communication.

Why take TOEIC?

  • To get hired by an established company
  • To advance their careers
  •  To be promoted to a higher and deserving position in accordance to their skills
  •  To gain employer’s confidence in your abilities and performance
  • For certification purposes and/or as an employment requirement (i.e. nurses CGFNS’s certificate)

Who uses TOEIC?

  • Non-native English speaker
  • School and universities
  •  Companies and private organizations
  •  Health professional (i.e. nurses, radiographer, physical therapist)
  • Applicants of working/immigrant visa



What is IELTS?

International English Language Testing System or IELTS is a standardized English proficiency test that can be taken by both native and non-native English speakers who wish to study, work, and migrate to UK and other English speaking countries. Native speakers take the IELTS to gain higher proficiency points but they are not necessarily required to take it except for proving higher level of English competencies.

IELTS consists of two types:

Academics—those who wish to study in English-speaking universities and institutions of higher education

General Training—this test is designed for those who are planning to immigrate to, and work in an English speaking country

The test has four sections and each with allotted time:

Listening – 4 sections, 40 questions, 30 minutes

Reading – 3 sections, 40 questions, 60 minutes

Writing – 3 sections, 40 questions, 60 minutes

Speaking – interview, 15 minutes

Why Take IELTS?

IELTS is a highly recognized English language proficiency test education, employment, and immigration purposes. It is widely acceptable by over 6,000 institutions and organizations, and 125 countries worldwide.

The test determines the candidate’s English proficiency in dealing with everyday experiences as the exam covers real-life tasks. It is used as a basis to measure the candidate’s ability to communicate as it consists of all four major skills: listening, speaking, reading, and writing

Who takes IELTS?

IELTS test are taken by:

  • Candidates who want to pursue education in English-speaking countries
  • Those who want to immigrate and work in a foreign land whose primary language is English
  •  Professionals and students who want to comply to the institution or organization’s policy
  • Professionals who want to register as a doctor or nurse in English-speaking territories



Related articles